The Raven Cycle – Maggie Stiefvater

Towards the end of 2016 I pretty much binge-read the Raven Cycle quartet, and I still have a lot of feelings about them, so felt it would help to write them down and share them with the world.

For those of you who don’t know, the series starts of with The Raven Boys, and then follows on through to The Dream Thieves, Blue Lily, Lily Blue, and ends in The Raven King. It is about one boys’ search for a dead Welsh King. However, it is so much more, involving the lives of Richard Gansey III, Ronan Lynch, Adam Parrish, Noah Czerny, and Blue Sargent.

The series involves magic, including tarot cards, and a strong female presence throughout the book. It touches on abuse, financial stability, as well as figuring out your sexuality. (there are no love triangles involved!) It touches upon death, and finding out what you are capable of.

The series is just very good, and I keep recommended it to my partner, but they haven’t picked it up yet. Maggie has built this whole world, and even to the end, she keeps the reader on their toes. The characters have depth, as well as variety (despite there being no PoC as far as I can remember), and the story doesn’t stagnate half way through, but builds on a different aspect.

So basically, please read this series and come let me know what you think, because I would love to discuss it with you.

Rating: All the stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s